F. William Stahl

1975  Ron Kinnamon * 

1978  Bob Rule * 

1979  Paul Limbert * 

1982  Augie Becker * 

1985  Max Clowers *

1989  Bob Knight *

1991  Lee Wilson * 

1993  Bob Harlan *

1994  Alan Pickering * 

1997  Gene Turner, Jr. *

1998  John OMelia * 

1999  John Fisher*

2000  Parker Lansdale * 

2001  Andy Brethauer*

2002  Hank Bagelmann, Jr. 2003 Gerry Morse*

2004 "Dick" Ortmeyer * 

2005  Frank Kiehne* 

2006  Peter Gabel * 

2007  Bill Cameron  

2008  Donald Zerwer

2009  Tom Hargrave Jr. *

2011  Norris Lineweaver

2014  Stew Brown* ,

           Alice Sawyer

2017  Phil Wortman 

2019 Len Wilson




The F. William Stahl Award – our most prestigious honor -- is presented in Bill's memory by YMCA Alumni every two or three years at the determination of the board. The award is given in recognition of the dedication and commitment of Bill Stahl to the YMCA, the YMCA profession, and the art of written communications.


A nominee must have made a significant contribution toward the advancement of professional knowledge and skills through written expression, the arena of Bill’s greatest contributions.


Bill, a prolific writer, was editor at one time of three YMCA professional publications simultaneously, most notably The FORUM, while still serving on the staff of the Baltimore YMCA. 

Len Wilson of the Central Atlantic Chapter receives the 2019 F. William Stahl Award from Stahl Committee member Nancy Reece at Reunion '19 in Louisville.

YMCA Alumni thanks the YMCA Retirement Fund for their continued support.

Contact Us

© 2023 by YMCA ALUMNI

YMCA Alumni * PO Box 120989 * Staten Island, NY 10312

Communication: Craig Altschul + Associates * Webmaster: Craig Altschul * Facebook Administrator: Peggi Simmons